Koepka gets no relief at Ryder Cup; saves par anyway

By EDDIE PELLS AP National Writer

SHEBOYGAN, Wis. (AP) — Brooks Koepka lost a long argument with rules officials who would not grant him relief from an awkward lie near a drain on the 15th hole at the Ryder Cup.

Koepka and his partner, Daniel Berger, argued with a pair of rules officials that a drain placed near a bunker to the right of the fairway would interfere with Koepka's downswing.

The issue is more serious because Koepka has been dealing with a wrist injury.

According to Rule 16.1, free relief is allowed when an abnormal course condition, including immovable obstructions such as a drain, "physically interferes with the player's area of intended stance or area of intended swing."

Share this article:
 
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?
Close
Are you sure you want to delete this comment?