Tip Line: 414-777-5808 | newsdesk@cbs58.com

UW-Milwaukee announces schedule for men's basketball

MILWAUKEE (CBS 58) – The Milwaukee men's basketball program will open the 2017-18 regular season with a pair of games at UWM Panther Arena at the end of December and feature a heavy dose of home games in January, according to the Horizon League schedule released today by the league office.

First-year head coach, Pat Baldwin, will get conference play underway with a pair of games at UWM Panther Arena, hosting Oakland Dec. 28 and Detroit Dec. 30 to close out the 2017 portion of the calendar.

The month of January opens with one of the longest stretches on the road in recent memory, facing a pair of matchups in Ohio to begin 2018. First up is Youngstown State Jan. 4, followed by Cleveland State Jan. 6.

A midweek contest at league newcomer IUPUI awaits Jan. 10, followed by a short trip down to Chicago to take on UIC Jan. 12. The final stop of the five-game road trip sees the Panthers head to Green Bay Jan. 15.

It's back home then for an important stretch, as UWM plays six consecutive games downtown at UWM Panther Arena. Matchups with Northern Kentucky Jan. 18, Wright State Jan. 20, the rematch with YSU Jan. 25, Cleveland State Jan. 27 and the Flames Jan. 29 round out the month.

Conference play enters its final month with Milwaukee hosting Green Bay Feb. 2.

The team takes to the road next, taking on NKU Feb. 8 and Wright State Feb. 10. The final home game pits the Panthers against IUPUI Feb. 16, with the last road swing priming the squad for the postseason and "Motor City madness" with a trip to Michigan to battle Detroit Feb. 22 before closing out the season at Oakland Feb. 24.

Milwaukee's nonconference schedule was released earlier this summer. Season tickets are on sale now for the 2017-18 Milwaukee basketball season and can be ordered by calling (414) 229-5886.

Season tickets start for as little as $75.

2017-18 Milwaukee Men's Basketball Horizon League Schedule

Thursday, December 28

Oakland at Milwaukee

Saturday, December 30

Detroit Mercy at Milwaukee

Thursday, January 4

Milwaukee at Youngstown State

Saturday, January 6

Milwaukee at Cleveland State

Wednesday, January 10

Milwaukee at IUPUI

Friday, January 12

Milwaukee at UIC

Monday, January 15

Milwaukee at Green Bay

Thursday, January 18

Northern Kentucky at Milwaukee

Saturday, January 20

Wright State at Milwaukee

Thursday, January 25

Youngstown State at Milwaukee

Saturday, January 27

Cleveland State at Milwaukee

Monday, January 29

UIC at Milwaukee

Friday, February 2

Green Bay at Milwaukee

Thursday, February 8

Milwaukee at Northern Kentucky

Saturday, February 10

Milwaukee at Wright State

Friday, February 16

IUPUI at Milwaukee

Thursday, February 22

Milwaukee at Detroit Mercy

Saturday, February 24

Milwaukee at Oakland

Share this article: